Kaya’s Diary: my five (actually six) senses in India: #1: Touch

IMG_6388
Majorda Beach, Goa. That’s my little sister (in the red dress) chasing after the para-sailors.

I have been in India for one month now and I have been to a lot of places! So far we have visited: New Delhi, Agra, Mumbai, Majorda (Goa), Chennai and now Pondicherry! That is a lot of places. I am working on a list of my five senses in India (with some of my ‘sixth’ sense, my feelings also). Today I am talking about TOUCH. I’d love to hear what you think and maybe some of your senses where are you are living.

 

TOUCH:

The Bumpy Sidewalks

The sidewalks are usually bumpy and filled with garbage and wires. It is not like home in Toronto. Sometimes the sidewalks are so bumpy it is hard to walk on them so we walk on the road which is actually not the safest because there are so many cars and scooters and auto rickshaws, especially in Delhi and Bombay. In a way it feels scary. Sometimes we are walking in the dark because we are up late and especially because the sidewalks are not safe: bumpy and wires. And sometimes, we think we’re going to be home at six o’ clock but it actually turns out to be 10 o’ clock. We use our flashlight to find our way home because there are not many streetlights.

The Cool Marble of the Taj Mahal

The marble was cool and smooth at the Taj Mahal in Agra. Me and my sister laid down on the marble at the taj Mahal wherever we saw places to lay down. We took our shoes off and when I first stepped on the marble it felt surprising, even though it was such a hot day the marble felt so cool. I kept hugging it and pretended to skate on it.

We walked into the inside of the Taj Mahal and I could still feel the breeze blowing on my face and hear the noises, even though we were inside. There were holes in the designs of the walls that let the breeze and noises through. It felt like the Taj had no top, but when you looked up you saw the big dome.

The “Washing Machine’ at the Beaches in Goa

I think that the beaches in Goa are fun. When you go under the waves, you can feel the waves going over you and sometimes hitting you. You can hear water going over you when you are under water. When you are above the water, you can feel the water and waves splashing you. I don’t like going into the “washing machine.” Going into the washing machine means that a wave is coming and you haven’t decided to dive through or you can’t jump over and the wave breaks on you and knocks you down and you get tumbled around.

Leave a comment